The Government

The politics of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam are defined by a single-party socialist republic framework, where the President of Vietnam is the head of State and the Prime Minister of Vietnam is the head of government, in a one-party system led by the Communist Party of Vietnam.

The President of the Socialist Republic is elected by the National Assembly for a five-year term and acts as the commander-in-chief of the Vietnam People's Armed Forces and Chairman of the Council for Defence and Security. The government as the main executive state power of Vietnam comprises the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Ministers and Ministers heading ministries and ministerial equivalent bodies. Executive power is exercised by the government and the President of Vietnam. The executive branch is responsible for the implementation of political, economic, cultural, social, defence, security and external activities of the State. The National Assembly has 500 members, representing 63 cities and provinces in Vietnam, elected by popular vote to serve a five-year term. Legislative power is vested in the National Assembly of Vietnam. The Judiciary is independent of the executive.

Related Chapters

Introduction to Vietnam

Culture and religion in Vietnam

Economy of Vietnam


Legal System

Regulatory Framework

Banking & Finance

Capital Markets

Land & Housing

Labour Law


Intellectual Property

Selected Sector Regulations

Dispute Resolution

Contact Us | Legal Notice | Site Map | © 2006 – 2020 Indochine Counsel. All Rights Reserved.